The state of Arizona requires your child to attend school from the age of 6 to 16 years old.
Arizona law states that "legal schooling" options include: public school, private school, charter school and homeschool.
Arizona law defines homeschool as a "nonpublic school conducted primarily by the parent, guardian or other person who has custody of the child" or "nonpublic instruction provided in the child's home."
The Arizona Homeschool Law requires you to file an affidavit of intent with your county school superintendent stating that you intend to homeschool your child.
- This affidavit of intent must be filed within 30 days from the time that you begin to homeschool.
- You only need to file this affidavit once.
- This affidavit must be notarized if you will be mailing it in, otherwise, most county superintendents will have a notary service in their homeschool office. Most counties will also ask for an original or certified copy of your child’s birth certificate.
- Each county in Arizona has jurisdiction over the homeschool families within its borders. Therefore requirements may vary slightly from county to county. Most Arizona county websites have their own affidavit of intent for you to print off and fill out.
- If you choose to stop homeschooling and enroll your child in a public school then you must file another affidavit of intent to the county superintendent within 30 days after the change has taken place.
ARIZONA COUNTY WEBSITES:
Apache County Cochise County Coconino County Gila County Graham County Greenlee County La Paz County Maricopa County Navajo County Pima County Pinal County Santa Cruz County Yavapai County
If your county is not listed we were unable to find an online resource for your county, you can either check with your local school district or use the affidavit of intent offered by Unschool Inc.
Does your child currently attend an Arizona pubic School? If it is recommended that you officially withdraw your child in order to homeschool. Your first step will be to send your enrollment letter to your local school authority notifying them that you will be homeschooling your child and then submit an official withdrawal letter.
Unschool Inc. has created a withdrawal form for your convenience.
The state of Arizona does not require that a homeschool parent meet specific qualifications in order to homeschool.
The state homeschooling law in Arizona does not require you to teach a specific amount of hours per day or a specific amount of days per year.
The state homeschooling law in Arizona requires that all homeschool students have the following subject included in their curriculum: reading, grammar, mathematics, social studies, science.
*Note: The state does not require that you show proof that the following subjects are being taught.
The state homeschool law in Arizona does not require that you keep specific records of your homeschooling.
As a general rule, we suggest keeping all records and correspondence between you and the school regarding your child's education as well as a portfolio of your child's work should it ever be requested. (this is not a law.)
suggests registering for your free account to track your child's education
Unschool Inc. suggests registering for your free account to track your child's education.
The State of Arizona does not require any testing as part of homeschooling.
The state of Arizona does not require homeschoolers to vaccinate their children.
*Are you a business that has something to offer the Alabama Homeschool community and would like to be listed in this directory? Contact us for more information.
Required Attendance Age: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
Definition of homeschool: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (G-2).
Affidavit of Intent: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (2-3).
Required subjects: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802 (A).
Homeschoolers allowed to participate in interscholastic activities: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-802-01.
Immunizations: Arizona Revised Statutes 15-871 (10 & 12).